Parish Pastoral Council

Parish Pastoral Councils are approved bodies within the structures of the Church that are concerned with fostering the pastoral activities of parish life so that the parish becomes a vibrant Christian community that promotes gospel values of love, justice and peace. In 2004 Archbishop Diarmuid Martin decreed that all parishes in the Archdiocese of Dublin should have a Parish Pastoral Council.

The Parish Pastoral Council is a consultative and representative group within the parish. It is composed of priests, permanent deacons and pastoral workers appointed by the Bishop to minister in the parish along with a variety of men and women from the parish community. It facilitates a shared responsibility for leadership and pastoral initiatives in the parish that aims to build a dynamic Christian community characterised by faith, worship, evangelisation and service.

Under the inspiration of the Holy Spirit and guided by the teachings of the Church, the Parish Pastoral Council seeks to encourage and assist all members of the parish community to live out their baptismal commitment as disciples of Jesus Christ and give witness to their faith.

Our current Parish Pastoral Council consist of two priests and eleven men and women from the parish. The Parish Pastoral Council meets monthly from September to June. The Parish Pastoral Council can be contacted through the Parish Office.